googlef84340a5be734315.html Information | powell-and-jones

© 2019 by Powell and Jones AC

Thank you for your interest in our premium artisan products

 

Powell and Jones Chocolates - Allergen Information

We are aware that there are consumers with food allergies who will be unable to enjoy all of our chocolate products at this time.  We do hope that in the future we will be able to extend more product offerings to accommodate consumers with varying dietary requirements.   Detailed allergen information is available either on the packaging material as required by FDA food safety rules or upon request.  Please feel free to contact us: info@pjchocs.com for specific product formulation and nutritional information.

 

Gluten:

Is there gluten or barley malt in Powell and Jones chocolate products?

Gluten can be found in several premium chocolate products that we produce; either as cereal inclusions or as a barley component in the chocolate, as many milk chocolate formulations contain barley malt.  For consumers who are sensitive to gluten, we do offer certain high cocoa content products that are manufactured without cereal or barley malt, which may be suitable for consumers with such dietary restrictions. Please always refer to a product’s packaging for definitive advice, note we do not label any product as “Gluten free” currently.

 

Nuts:

Given the prevalence of restricted diets due to nut allergies some consumers may not be able to enjoy our chocolate at this time.

Unfortunately, no Powell and Jones product is 100% guaranteed nut free or nut allergen safe. The "may contain tree nuts or peanuts" warning informs you that the product may contain minute traces of tree nuts or peanuts because they have been produced in the same production facility as nut products or are made with bulk chocolate that our vendor can’t certify as ‘nut free’.   Explicitly, all our current supplying chocolate vendors process nut products, so there is potential for cross contamination. Also, though we incorporate the most thorough cleaning process, trace amounts may cross contact with other products within our facility.  According to allergen experts, a simple nut protein trace can cause an allergic reaction and resultantly we do not recommend any of our products for those with nut allergies.

 

Soy Lecithin:

Soy lecithin can be found in our regular dark chocolate products, as well as milk and white chocolate. We do make some milk chocolate products that use a milk chocolate made with sunflower lecithin.  We also have a 70% dark chocolate bar made without added soy lecithin.  We have an allergen control program in place and adhere to strict Good Manufacturing Practices in order to reduce the risk of cross contamination. However, we do label products with "may contain traces of soy" as a precaution for the most sensitive consumers.

 

Milk and Whey Products:

We use skim milk, whole milk, milk powder, and other dairy ingredients including heavy cream and butter in many of our chocolate products and praline fillings.  While our white and milk chocolate products contain the most, our regular dark chocolate products may also contain trace amounts.  All supplying manufacturing facilities and our own facilities process milk, dark, and white chocolate products. We have an allergen control program in place, and adhere to strict Good Manufacturing Practices in order to reduce the risk of cross contamination, however, we do label all of our chocolate products that do not contain milk as an ingredient with the statement "may contain traces of milk" as a precaution for those that are most sensitive to milk and whey.

 

Other potential allergens:

All Powell and Jones products are made using USDA/FDA approved ingredients.  This includes where used colorants and flavors. Specific information for individual product SKU is available on request.